The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach

art of fielding by Chad Harbach

It was easy enough to write a sentence, but if you were going to create a work of art, the way Melville had, each sentence needed to fit perfectly with the one that preceded it, and the unwritten one that would follow. -Guert Affenlight

I chanced upon this novel on a Books for Less store and A bought it for me. I told him I couldn’t decide because I have no idea about baseball. A part of me wanted to get it badly though after seeing Carina’s review.

scott

 I have no interest in baseball same as Pella Affenlight. I have no connection with anyone who plays that game; therefore I had to search about how baseball works. Scott Muskin was right. Despite my lack of knowledge, I truly enjoyed The Art of Fielding. One of the books that has succeeded to keep me from reading on and everywhere including during my daily commute to work.

The story consists of 5 main characters namely Henry Skrimshander, Mike Schwartz, Owen Dunne, Guert Affenlight, and his daughter Pella Affenlight(I love her name). Their stories and how it connected to each other were well thought of(also mentioned by most people who’ve made a review about this book). You’ll get to know them slowly like a friend you wanted to know more of. And a friend’s life story will always be interesting to you, or for me at least. I admit of being a friends-oriented type which is not always a good quality; do you know that? Once I get overly attached to someone, I unconsciously sacrifice the time that’s meant for something else. Anyway, this book also revolves around friendship, my favorite topic. I’m about to quote a favorite from the story…

Every day is a war.  Yes, yes it was.  The key is to keep company only with people who uplift you, whose presence calls forth your best.

The Art of Fielding thrillingly tackles ambition and love. Love for baseball, literature, academy, hetero/homosexual, and responsibility. The turn of events doesn’t feel forced as it’s being built slowly. It’s a good kind of sick! There was a time I’ve had a placebo effect with Guert and felt weird on my stomach about what’s going on with them. And by the end of Chapter 69, I felt immensely sad as I read it while I’m looking after my aunt in the hospital. A hospital vibe is depressing, on my opinion.

The wanting, the negligence, the admiration, the inspiration, the loss and despair, the unmoving faith, the geniuses among us, the escapism, the regrets, the secrets, the decisions that impact our life and others, plus a whole lot more. In my verdict, I’d say this is light yet heartwarming. I love that there’s a reading group guide at the end of the story. There were questions too.

Conclusion: Upon finishing the book I was hopefully looking for its movie adaptation. I can already imagine but found none. I’m not a fan of YA books; now I’m a convert. I regret not buying An Abundance of Katherines when it was on a 40% off sale. huhu, Boo! Next on my cart is Eleanor and Park when I’m done reading the latest book I’ve purchased (Astray by Emma Donoughe)

Do I recommend it: Yes. Highly! I recommend it if you’re passionate about something; may it be a dream, a person, or a commitment.

Leave a Reply

