Summer Night

Memory of a you and I,
swam together in the night
With blue appearing green
water through the yellow light.

It’s so fresh in my mind
like I saw it yesterday;
when my hand touches yours
underneath the tiny waves.

I’d cling to you when I
can’t reach the pool’s floor.
Like how I’d cling to you when I
want to love you more.

Alive as I held on to
the edge of the pool.
Alive as we hold on to
our love as a whole.

 I remember catching beams of light on the side of the pool and there I knew I’d wrote a poem about our Bataan trip. Obviously I don’t really know how to swim. Obviously I don’t really know the rules of poetry too. Any tips? 🙂

6 comments

  1. I like your poem! I personally think poetry has no rules. As long as you have things in mind which you can connect together and create a series of lines, then that is poetry. I do have some of my poems kept inside my old notebooks and someday, I wish to share them too! Thanks for the inspiration! Keep making poems! 🙂


Leave a Reply

